CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-20-2009, 06:50 PM   #1
Matthew Klein

Profile:
Thinking about Starting Strength..

So I'm 18, soon to be 19, 5'11, and between 180-185lbs. I played football for 4 years for a very small high school during which we went through a terribly poor weight training program. Then, at the end of my senior season, I found Crossfit. I've been doing mainpage for about 6 months. About 4 months into it, I decided that I wasn't strong enough, but didn't want to leave for a pure strength cycle, so I did CFSB with which I made welcome gains and maintained my metcon. But they weren't enough. Now, after 2 more months of the main page Crossfit, I'm feeling the same way I did before. I have a 375 deadlift, 295 back squat, and around 155-160 shoulder press. Throughout the workouts, I've been having to continually scale down weights, cut reps, etc. not because I'm out of breath, but because I can't continue to lift the weight. I know I want more strength. And I'm not worried about losing my metcon, I have no issues or problems with gaining it back afterwards. At 19, having weightlifted for 4 years, and at 185lbs with about between 15% and 20% body fat, will I still see gains in these lifts, or will I just get fat?

Last edited by Matthew Klein : 08-20-2009 at 06:53 PM.
Old 08-20-2009, 06:54 PM   #2
Lawrence "Bo" Boland III

Profile:
Re: Thinking about Starting Strength..

I mean, doing SS... you'll probably see gains. But you have pretty good numbers to begin with.