CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 04-29-2013, 06:54 PM   #1
Harrison Holtz

Profile:
New to CF, learning Olympic Lifts?

I'd love to join a box if I could, but I really just can't afford it right now. I've never done CrossFit before, nor do I have any experience cleaning or snatching. I'd love to get into CrossFit from my garage, but what's the best way to go about learning to clean and snatch without any coaching?
Old 04-29-2013, 08:22 PM   #2
Oli Kellett

Profile:
Re: New to CF, learning Olympic Lifts?

So hold off until you can see a coach would be my recommendation.

Otherwise Greg Everett has some decent stuff online somewhere.
Old 04-29-2013, 11:36 PM   #3
Hakon Lehmann

Profile:

Same problem here.

Can't afford a box and don't know anyone showing me how to snatch, clean etc.

Just watched some videos online but its still hard to try a snatch in a globo gym without being allowed to drop the weight. So currently its about some deadlifts, push presses ( light weight so im safe about dropping), squats and benching. Ofc all kind of bodyweight stuff.

U guys have maybe any other tips how to train well without box or coach ?

Greetings
Old 04-30-2013, 03:23 AM   #4
Chris Jones

Profile:

My advice is basically the same as Oli's. Most boxes give a free workout session to anyone looking to try it out. Most boxes also have some sort of lifting program involving the olympic lifts(they all SHOULD!), sometimes as part of the workout or sometimes as individual classes specializing in one movement at a time. I say go to one of those sessions and have a coach guide you through the movement and show you things to be cautious about and check your form. OLY lifts are the most technical and definitely are not learned over night.