CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 04-15-2009, 12:32 PM   #1
Eric R Cohen

Profile:
Other Certs?

So I've just finished level 1 and am considering taking on a few clients on a personal training basis (then opening a box down the road). I've seen other threads saying it's difficult to get insurance with just CF. If so, what other Cert ie: ACE, NCSF, etc. is the best compliment to CF, without being too time intensive?
Old 04-15-2009, 12:53 PM   #2
Sara Fleming

Profile:
Re: Other Certs?

I'm an ISSA certified trainer. I'd recommend it. They just got their final accreditation through the DETC which is through the US Department of Education. Way better than the NCAA accreditation of most PT organizations. http://www.issaonline.edu (wfs)

The curriculum is broad and includes special populations. If you read the whole textbook, you'll find many of the theoretical principles that Crossfit is based on. The basic certification is focused on safety so you're not going to find anything mind-blowing, but it covers all the basics. The exam can be done either at their seminar or at home, but it is part multiple choice and has a written component containing essays and case studies.

There are other very good training organizations out there, but for time and convenience, the ISSA course is top notch in my opinion.
Old 04-15-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
Jordan Wright

Profile:

Ya Eric I did some research and ISSA seems to be the way to go. I know when I have a little more time and cash I will be taking it as well. I know a good PT friend of mine does have ACE and she really liked it. I believe CFHQ has it's own coop insurance program you can no buy into. I know I will be purchasing it when I affiliate.
Old 04-15-2009, 04:58 PM   #4