CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 03-30-2006, 08:38 AM   #1
Scott Edgins

Profile:
hi everyone i am new to crossfit and i have to say i am very excited about crossfit, what it represents and what it will do with a little descipline. my question is i dont have a garage to build a home gym, but i have a carport you could fit two cars in that is open to the outside elements on two sides. will this be a problem if i put a nice bench and o-bar and weights outside. another thing, i dont have a place to really do pull ups or use power rings so i thought about builing a pull up bar in back yard. as long as the bar is kinda high could i still use power rings to do dips, pull ups, etc? one last thing, i am a student on a budget and would like to minimize to as little equipment as possible. i just purchased some power elite rings :-) jump rope (speed rope) and made a medicine ball by pouring sand in a basketball. is this adequate or do i really need to invest in the bench and weights? sorry this is so long
Old 03-30-2006, 08:50 AM   #2
Joseph Hart

Profile:
Welcome. I would get some weights (bumpers) and figure out a squat rack of some sort. Search the board for some ideas that are there. Sounds like you have a good deal going. I don't think a bench is critical. I would maybe keep the barbell inside when you are done. SC does get humid and no one likes a rusty bar:happy:.

Joe
Old 03-30-2006, 09:06 AM   #3
Scott Edgins

Profile:
thanks alot for the info:happy:
Old 03-30-2006, 10:45 AM   #4
John Seiler

Profile:
Check out the Vulcan Squat racks from www.IronMind.com. They are available with dip handles. While they can handle 1500lbs., the whole assembly weighs about 60lbs; perfect for keeping them inside and away from thieves and cars.