CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 01-28-2010, 07:16 AM   #1
Tim Cox

Profile:
5 Months Post ACL-Easing back into Crossfit?

About 3 years ago, I got into Crossfit and did it for about 8 months with great results. I had a completely torn ACL, but I braced it up during exercises. A wrist injury(Not Crossfit related) resulted in me quitting Crossfit.

Exactly 5 months ago, I had an ACL recon.(hamstring) and has some of my meniscus trimmed off. The knee feels very stable now, but it is still uncomfortable to run, and deep squats are not an option at this point.

Has anyone eased back into Crossfit 5 months post op that can offer some advice on exercise substitutions for exercises like deep squats, thrusters, etc.

To give you an idea of where I am physically, I've been training pretty intensely for 3 months now after surgery (bodybuilding type routines) and doing elliptical cardio 2-3 times a week. I had stopped a couple months before my surgery. I've worked out pretty consistently for the past 14 years. I'm in pretty decent shape, but not "crossfit shape" by any means.

Any advice is welcome.
Old 01-28-2010, 09:27 AM   #2
Trey Orr

Profile:
Re: 5 Months Post ACL-Easing back into Crossfit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Cox View Post
About 3 years ago, I got into Crossfit and did it for about 8 months with great results. I had a completely torn ACL, but I braced it up during exercises. A wrist injury(Not Crossfit related) resulted in me quitting Crossfit.

Exactly 5 months ago, I had an ACL recon.(hamstring) and has some of my meniscus trimmed off. The knee feels very stable now, but it is still uncomfortable to run, and deep squats are not an option at this point.