CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 02-15-2014, 11:41 AM   #1
Bjorn Andreassen

Profile:
Advice on kettlebell swing

Hello everyone,

I am new to crossfit and i am currently practicing my kettlebell swing.

I tried recording a grimey video showing me and my swing.

Please comment on my form!

http://youtu.be/SXRROS2WRr4YOU MUST ANNOTATE ALL LINKS WHETHER WORK AND FAMILY SAFE

I do feel a bit of tension in my lower back, are my spine neutral enough?

All the best

Bjorn
Old 02-16-2014, 02:43 PM   #2
Mustafa Tahir

Profile:
Re: Advice on kettlebell swing

you're hyperextending when you come up - instead of shooting your crotch out, just focus on squeezing your glutes
Old 02-17-2014, 02:43 AM   #3
Adam Zelenay

Profile:

This is coming from a beginner, but shouldn't you also go a bit deeper and stick out your butt a bit ?
Old 02-17-2014, 08:06 AM   #4
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Zelenay View Post
This is coming from a beginner, but shouldn't you also go a bit deeper and stick out your butt a bit ?
Let's keep it clean, please.

- Mark
Old 02-17-2014, 10:51 AM   #5
Dakota Base

Profile:

Looks like you're not bending enough at the hips, which doesn't give you enough ROM for a powerful pull, and limits how far rearward the bell can swing, costing you momentum on the upswing.

In this case, don't confuse "going deeper" with bending your legs more. For whatever reason, we've defined the KB swing to be "non-squat," so all of the propulsion on the bell should come from the extension of the hips.