CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 11-25-2005, 06:58 PM   #1
Wayne Lowry

Profile:
I know this is going to sound like a stupid question, but ill ask anyway. why are olympic style bars used to crossfit? wont any barbell set work? thanks, i am sure it will be a no brainer after i here the reasoning, wayne.
Old 11-25-2005, 09:34 PM   #2
Josh Brehm

Profile:
I'm still a newbie, but I'll try answering anyway. Olympic sets are much stronger and can hold much more weight, also you can load bumper plates on an olympic bar to make training the OLY lifts safer. It's "better" to use an olympic set, but if all you have is a regular standard barbell set, that'll work too, just can't go as far with it, or use it as safely.
Old 11-25-2005, 10:38 PM   #3
Lisa Sorbo

Profile:
I thought the primary purpose behind using Olympic bars was for the O-lifts - the spinning part.
Old 11-26-2005, 08:40 AM   #4
Lincoln Brigham

Profile:
Standard bars: There is no "standard" for the dimensions of the bar or the plates. The grip AND the sleeves are one piece, usually 1" and often a hair more. Plates that may fit on one standard bar quite possibly won't fit on another brand. Weight varies, usually anywhere from 7 to 15 lbs. Length varies from 5' to 7'. Steel used is inexpensive and is not suitable for heavy weights. The sleeves do not rotate, making them awkward to use with lifts like the snatch and the clean. Plates used on "standard" bars are always measured in pounds.