CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 03-21-2007, 07:53 AM   #1
Mike Gray

Profile:
Say kinds,

I've been working on my olympic lifts for eight months now - and more intensively since I started CF - but I've always used a skinny style bar with star nuts. It doesn't flex at all. What kind of difference does it make if you do the lifts with a "proper" bar?

And does it even make a difference for a newbie whose best ever clean was only 78 kilos?

Peace,

Mike
Old 03-21-2007, 11:13 AM   #2
Paul Findley

Profile:
I suspect that your "skinny" bar flexes more than you think.

There is nothing better than the right tool for the job...or in some cases, an even better, more expensive tool for the job :-)

I would, however, not stop doing what your doing for want of a "real" olympic bar and weights. A larger diameter bar may fit better in your hand, working with the standard diameter bumper plates allow for a standard starting position. There are, most likely, other factors I am not aware of.
Old 03-21-2007, 12:27 PM   #3
Victor Cruzeiro

Profile:
I'm quite a novice lifter myself, and until recently have been doing cleans with a cheap 32mm bar and metal plates. Like you I hadn't ever cleaned much weight.
A couple of weeks ago though, I invested in a York Olympic bar & some bumper plates and I have to say, it's so much nicer work with good equipment. I love bumper plates and the York bar is so much nicer to use. The narrower diameter is so much nicer to grip (small hands) and the collars spin like a bike. The old bar has a real lack of spin that I felt affected my technique.