CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 08-26-2007, 04:05 PM   #1
Scott Mahn

Profile:
Aluminum Oly Bars for beginners

I've been reading old threads researching bars and bumpers and I don't see these get a lot of press around here.

I'm a newbie to strength training and Olympic lifting. Pretty much just teaching myself preliminary stuff for the last three weeks: back squats, front squats, overhead squats, deadlifts, power cleans to overhead press, etc. Pretty low weights, just trying to practice form, coordination and balance, etc.

For the squats I use a traditional 20K bar in a power rack, but for all else I've been using an aluminum bar with 10K bumpers. It probably totals about 60 lbs, and then I add iron weights as needed. Not sure I truly know what "whip" is, but I think this setup has it! At low weights I gotta imagine it's a better feel than a 44 lb bar with plywood bumpers, or 10 lb rubber bumpers that flex under the weight of the bar alone. And for those who like to practice with an empty bar the 44 lb bar might be too much, but the aluminum feels almost weightless.

Here's an example of what I'm talking about:

http://www.gillathletics.com/GillIte...spx?FSID=WT128