CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 02-17-2011, 05:56 PM   #1
Andrew Breyer

Profile:
"Boot Camp" Programming ideas

I work as a personal trainer for my university's sister college (all girls school) and have just been given an hour time slot in the aerobics studio that has been advertised as "Boot Camp." Our first session was yesterday and here's how it broke down:

10 minutes - dynamic warmup line drills (high knees, butt kickers, lunges, bear crawls, etc)
10 minutes - learn fundamentals (crossfit standard squat, pushup, burpee, lunge)

AMRAP 12 minutes - 8 pushups on one side of studio, run across studio, 8 squats on that side, run
AMRAP 12 minutes - 6 burpees, 6 split lunges, buddy carry partner across gym, watch partner do their 6+6 and get carried, etc.

10 minutes - planche holds, side holds, various flutter kicks
rest of time - cooldown stretching, flexibility work

I'm throwing this out there asking for ideas from anyone else who has done this sort of thing. We are very limited in equipment. Medicine balls are a possibility, but not much else.

I think that the women got a lot out of this, but I am trying to plan for next time and I'm looking for some ideas as to how to program the hour that I've been given.

Old 02-19-2011, 03:23 PM   #2
J. Thomas Boss

Profile:
Re: "Boot Camp" Programming ideas