CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-28-2013, 12:41 PM   #1
Jason Bosch

Profile:
Should I take a break from Crossfit?

Hi everyone. I'm looking for some advice on where to go from here. I've been crossfitting for about 6 months now and I love it. It's the first exercise program that I've ever really stuck with for any length of time. I actually look forward to my daily challenges.

I started off at a local box for a couple of months. I enjoyed it, but I couldn't continue longer for financial reasons. I have a fairly well equipped garage gym. So, I decided to do what I could at home. I followed Brand X "Pack" scaled programming for a couple of months. For the last couple of months I've been doing my own programming to train for the upcoming South Carolina Spartan Beast obstacle race. I needed to mix some extra running in. My programming has been fairly generic. A strength WOD like 3 x 5 back squats or 5 x 5 hang power cleans before a relatively short but intense metcon three times a week. I also run 3 - 6 miles a couple times a week and once a week I get in some 50 - 100 yard sprints.

Anyways, once my race is done I won't be needing to run as much. I'd like to spend a few months working on one of my most glaring weaknesses: strength, or lack there of. I've been reading Starting Strength and it seems like a great program. However, I really don't like not being able to do any conditioning or anything in addition to it. I've also been looking into GSLP. It looks a little better in that it seems like you can do some mild conditioning work while doing it. I'm also looking at CFFB. Should I take a break from crossfit and focus purely on a strength program? Let me share my stats as of right now.

35 year old male
5' 6"
148 lbs
9 % body fat

Back squat - 205
Deadlift - 275