CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-21-2014, 03:26 AM   #1
Wisam Saeed

Profile:
Strength Program or CF or Both?

Hey guys,

I really read alot on the forums for an answer to my question but I could not get an accurate answer or i'd get alot of different answer which is confusing me.

Ive been doing crossfit for 4 months now, I love it. Just like every person I have my strengths and weakness. Im very good with bodyweight stuff lie pushups, pullups, dips...etc. But what I need to work on more is my strength, I suffer a bit with heavy weights.

One coach in a one box suggested I should do SS along with crossfit, so I did the 3 days SS and 2 day CF program.

I changed my box and the new coach is telling me you dont need SS, you will become better with crossfit by only doing crossfit.

So I come to the board to find an answer, and I get different answers, one that says doing SS for a few months and then CF because its bad to do both at the same time and other people say do both.

What do you advise guys? if I have 5-6 days a week to train should I

1- Do 3 days SS, 2-3 days CF? or

2- I can do CF and SS on the same day but different times and the other days I do CF? like Sat Mon Wed, SS at noon and CF at night. and Sun Tues just CF? or

3- Should I just focus on SS only now?

Bare in mind my goal is to compete, I want to at least get to Regionals next year (I know too ambitious, but I wana do the best I can)

My data:

Height: 5'6

Weight: 170 lbs

5 Rep Max Squat: 220lbs

5 Rep Max Deadlift: 220 lbs

5 Rep Max Bench Press: 215 lbs

Thanks
Old 03-21-2014, 04:04 AM   #2
Eric R Cohen

Profile:
Re: Strength Program or CF or Both?