CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-30-2014, 10:58 PM   #1
Andrew G Parker

Profile:
Prescribed vs. scale/ strength vs. cardio

I have been doing CrossFit for 13 months. Initially, I had to scale everything. At this point I generally do 2/3rds of the WODs or so prescribed. Starting in, I was weak and my cardio was pathetic. I have gained some strength: a 45% improvement in my 3x5 squats (up to 116 kilo/255 lbs), 50% improvement in 5 rep maxes for deadlifts (up to 150 kilo/330 lbs), etc…

Today we did a WOD (as well as some core work, and a rowing tabata) that entailed 3 rounds of 6 deadlifts, 6 high pulls, 6 front squats, 6 push jerks, and 6 back squats. The weight was 60 kilo/132 lbs. I didn’t find the weight to be so much the problem, and my technique was good throughout, but I got so winded that I had to pause often to catch my breath. So I was struggling with failing, not because of muscle fatigue, but for lack of air. It took me almost 15 minutes to complete, while the other guys who did it prescribed were in the 6 ½ to 8 minute range. I find that is often the case. I was happy to do Murph last Saturday, prescribed, but it took me forever (72 min). In all fairness, muscle fatigue played a bit more into Murph.