CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-07-2014, 08:03 PM   #1
Snir Golan

Profile:
looking for help on designing a new program

ok, so first a little background and why i am looking for a new program. i have been doing CF for a couple of years now and have seen great results and have been very happy with my progress for the most part. recently, i am becoming more and more frustrated with my Olympic lifting progress or lack there of and while my strength numbers are going up, i do not feel that what i am doing for the Oly lifting is working. so.. what i would like to do is shift the focus a bit and go back to basics so i can do the Oly lifts the right way.

over the past few weeks, i have been doing a lot of reading and research and now what i would like to do is create a program that will allow me to focus on oly lifting while still continue to grow my strength as well as continue to at least do a few metcons.

after looking at many different programs and templates, i am pretty sure that the Pendlay beginner program is the best option for me since it puts a lot of emphasis on different positions and pulls which allows you to improve basic technique. a basic template will look like this one (link is SFW):

http://www.alltheheavylifting.com/my...fting-program/

since this is a 3 day program, what i thought about doing is using it as a basic template but instead of the complexes which Pendlay puts at the end of each day, i would do a short (3-8) minute CF metcon. in addition, this will leave me with 2 extra days where i can include gymanstic work, longer metcons or the missing strength pieces (bench and deadlifts which are not part of the program).